Independent and brand-neutral. We don't sell equipment. We help you buy it right.
Utah · UORG tiers, Utah's own depth tables and high-altitude UV

Utah playground grants and the state that wrote its own surfacing tables

Two things make Utah unusual. Its main state outdoor recreation grant will take an application from a nonprofit, a school or a tribal government, which most state park grant programs will not. And its child care rule does not adopt anybody else's playground standard: instead of pointing at CPSC or ASTM, Utah wrote prescriptive minimum depth tables for loose fill keyed to equipment height, and it does not even use the phrase fall zone. That combination means a Utah buyer has a wider door into funding and a narrower path to compliance than a buyer one state over. Add high-altitude ultraviolet exposure that ages plastic and rubber faster than the warranty assumes, and you have a state where the specification matters more than the catalog. We do not sell equipment. We help you buy it right.

Utah's applicant list is one of the broadest in the country

The Utah Division of Outdoor Recreation, part of the Utah Department of Natural Resources, runs the Utah Outdoor Recreation Grant. Eligible applicants are municipalities, state agencies, federal agencies, public educational institutions, nonprofits and tribal governments.

Read that list against the rest of the country and you can see how unusual it is. Ohio's flagship park grant excludes school boards and nonprofits outright. Texas limits its Local Park Grant Program to political subdivisions and tells school districts they are not eligible. Tennessee's Local Parks and Recreation Fund takes applications only from city or county governments. In all three states, a nonprofit or a school with a playground project has to find a municipal partner willing to be the applicant, hold the site interest and carry the compliance period. In Utah, a nonprofit can apply directly, and a public educational institution can too.

That is worth planning around. If you are a Utah nonprofit that has been told by generic grant advice that state park money is closed to you, that advice is wrong here. Check the current program guidance for your tier, but the applicant category is not the wall it is elsewhere.

UORG has five funding categories, not two

UORG is a state-funded program, distinct from Utah's LWCF pass-through, and it splits by project scale rather than by community size. The Division of Outdoor Recreation publishes five funding categories:

Read the full list before you decide your project is stranded between categories, because it is not. Tier 1 runs from $30,001 to $500,000, which covers the whole span between the Community Parks and Recreation ceiling and the Regional Asset floor, and the Mini-Grant handles small work under $30,000. What does deserve attention is the $5,000 floor on Community Parks and Recreation. A request under that number does not fit the category at all, so a single-piece replacement or a surfacing-only repair may need to be folded into a larger scope or funded some other way.

Pick the category that matches your scope and your dollar figure, and let the figure follow the scope rather than the other way around. A playground replacement is a Community Parks and Recreation project, and $200,000 is a real number for that work in most of Utah. A project that dresses itself up as a regional asset because the ceiling is higher will be read by the reviewers for what it is.

Three things we could not confirm, stated plainly rather than guessed at. First, the required match or cost share for UORG was not stated on the Division page we read, so ask the Division what your tier requires. Do not assume 50 percent because that is what LWCF uses. Second, the Division listed the 2026 UORG application cycle as closed at the time of our research and did not post the next opening window; the program runs an annual cycle that has historically opened in January, so watch for it around then and confirm with the Division rather than relying on that pattern. Third, we confirmed the Community Parks and Recreation category and its $5,000 to $200,000 range, but we did not confirm an itemized eligible-amenity list naming playgrounds specifically. Ask the program staff to point you at the eligible amenity language for the current cycle before you commit design money.

CDBG in Utah runs through Workforce Services and your regional AOG

Utah's non-entitlement Community Development Block Grant program is administered by the Utah Department of Workforce Services, Housing and Community Development Division. This one is worth reading carefully, because Utah's CDBG program is more explicit about parks than most states are, and it also has a procedural trap.

That last item is the one that costs communities a year. The mandatory workshop is not a formality you can catch up on later; missing it makes you ineligible for that cycle regardless of how good the project is. Find out when your AOG holds it and put it on the calendar before anything else in the CDBG process.

The 51 percent low and moderate income benefit test is also a real design constraint. For a neighborhood playground, the benefit case usually rests on the service area rather than on individual income verification, which means the site selection decision and the funding decision are the same decision. Pick the site with the benefit test in mind, not after.

Compared with UORG, CDBG is slower and more procedural but can carry a larger share of a project in a qualifying area. Many Utah communities end up stacking a CDBG award with a UORG Community Parks and Recreation award and local funds. If that is your plan, sequence the AOG workshop and the UORG window against each other early, because they do not coordinate with one another.

Utah wrote its own depth tables, and that changes how you buy

If you operate a licensed child care center in Utah, your playground obligations come from Utah Administrative Code R381-100-19, Play Equipment, part of the Child Care Centers rule administered by the Utah Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Licensing and Background Checks.

The rule sets safety requirements for stationary play equipment, including use zones around equipment and protective cushioning, and it does something most states do not: it lays out prescriptive minimum depth tables for loose fill materials, covering sand, gravel, shredded tires and wood products, with the required depth keyed to the height of the equipment.

Three consequences follow, and they are the practical heart of buying a playground for a Utah center.

First, the material you choose changes the number. Because the tables are broken out by material type, sand, gravel, shredded tires and wood products do not all carry the same required depth at the same equipment height. That makes the surfacing decision and the excavation depth a single coupled decision. If you change materials after the pit is dug, you may have dug the wrong pit.

Second, equipment height drives everything. The tables are keyed to height, so adding a taller component to an existing structure can push the whole use zone into a deeper requirement. In a Utah center, a single new climber is not a small change order. Check the depth requirement for the new highest surface before you approve the addition.

Third, and most importantly, a compliance statement from your supplier is not compliance. The rule does not name CPSC Publication 325 and it does not name ASTM F1487. A supplier can hand you a perfectly genuine statement that a product meets ASTM F1487 and CPSC handbook guidance and you can still fail a Utah licensing inspection, because the inspector is reading Utah's table, not the handbook. Ask your supplier and installer to demonstrate compliance against the Utah numbers specifically, in writing, before installation.

We are deliberately not reproducing the depth numbers here. The rule number and title were confirmed on the official Division of Licensing and Background Checks page, but the verbatim table text was read on a secondary codification rather than on Utah's official administrative rules site, because the official URL patterns we tried returned errors and the Division page renders the rule only through a script-driven dropdown. Printing a depth in inches that we did not read on the official register would be exactly the kind of number that gets copied into a specification and then fails an inspection. Pull the current table from the official Utah administrative rules site or ask the Office of Licensing for it directly, and build your excavation depth from that.

A rule with no fall zone language still needs a fall zone

One more feature of R381-100-19 is worth calling out for anyone writing a specification. The rule addresses use zones and cushioning, but it does not use the phrase fall zone, and it does not incorporate the consensus standards where that concept is defined and dimensioned.

Practically, that means Utah gives you a depth obligation with much less accompanying geometry than states like Tennessee, which sets explicit six-foot climber fall zones and a swing fall zone at twice the chain length. Utah's silence is not permission. A play area laid out with correct cushioning depth and inadequate clearance between structures is unsafe regardless of what the state rule says, and it is the kind of thing a plaintiff's expert will describe using exactly the standards Utah declined to cite.

So specify both layers. Meet the Utah depth tables because that is what licensing enforces, and specify ASTM F1487, IPEMA certification and the CPSC Public Playground Safety Handbook for the geometry, entrapment, protrusion and barrier requirements Utah does not address, plus ADA accessible routes and ground surfaces. Insurers and courts read those documents as the standard of care whether or not the state adopts them.

LWCF in Utah, and a page that needs a phone call

Utah's Land and Water Conservation Fund pass-through is described on the Division's own page as a 50-50 matching reimbursement program. Eligible applicants are local governments, meaning counties, cities and towns, plus tribal governments and state agencies.

The cycle is published, and it is a long way out. The Division's LWCF page states that the next LWCF grant cycle opens on July 15, 2027 and closes on September 1, 2027. Plan the site control, the design work and the match resolution against those dates rather than waiting for an announcement, because a project that starts scoping when the window opens is already behind. One caution does remain. The agency naming on Utah's own site is not internally consistent: the LWCF page text refers to Utah State Parks and Recreation while the page itself sits on the Division of Outdoor Recreation domain. We could not reconcile which entity is formally the Utah LWCF state administrator today on a state page, so when you call, ask that question first and get the right office before you ask about deadlines.

Notice also the eligibility difference between Utah's two main programs. UORG takes nonprofits and public educational institutions; LWCF does not. A Utah nonprofit that assumed the broad UORG list applies everywhere will hit that wall on the federal program. If you are a nonprofit with a project too big for the $200,000 Community Parks and Recreation ceiling, stay inside UORG first: Tier 1 reaches $500,000 and the applicant list is the same broad one. It is only past the UORG categories, or where the federal program is the specific fit, that your realistic path becomes a municipal partner as the LWCF applicant, which is the same problem nonprofits face in most other states.

Altitude, sun and soil: why Utah equipment ages early

Utah's population centers sit at roughly 4,300 to 4,900 feet, and St. George sits in a high desert radiation environment of its own. Ultraviolet intensity rises roughly 4 to 6 percent per 1,000 feet of elevation, and that difference compounds over the service life of a playground.

What it attacks is specific: unstabilized HDPE panels, rope, plastisol coatings on climbers and grips, and the binder in poured-in-place rubber. Those chalk, fade and go brittle years earlier in Utah than the same products do at sea level in a coastal climate. The countermeasure is a purchasing decision rather than a maintenance one. Ask for UV-stabilized formulations explicitly, ask what the warranty says about fade and embrittlement as opposed to structural failure, and ask what the manufacturer's experience is at elevation. A warranty that covers structural failure but excludes fading is not much help in St. George.

Surface temperature is the second altitude effect, and it is a safety issue rather than a durability one. Dark surfacing in that sun reaches contact burn temperatures on summer afternoons. That pushes a Utah buyer toward lighter colors and toward real shade structures over the surfacing and the deck, not over a bench at the edge. Shade that is not in the base bid usually never gets added, so put it in the base bid.

Below grade, Utah soils are frequently expansive clay, collapsible loess, or highly alkaline and gypsiferous. Combine expansive and collapsible soils with a northern Utah freeze-thaw cycle and concrete borders and poured-in-place slabs crack unless the subgrade is properly prepared and moisture-conditioned. That is a geotechnical line item at design stage, not a warranty claim afterward. To be clear about our sourcing: the altitude, ultraviolet and soil guidance in this section is general engineering practice for these conditions, not a requirement published by a Utah agency, and your geotechnical engineer should evaluate your specific site.

Who buys playgrounds in Utah

Procurement volume concentrates in Salt Lake City, West Valley City, West Jordan, Provo and St. George. Four of those five sit along the Wasatch Front at similar elevation and share the same freeze-thaw and expansive-soil profile. St. George is the outlier and should be specified separately: it is hotter, drier and more radiation-intense, which changes the color selection, the shade requirement and the plastic formulation, and it moderates the freeze-thaw concern that dominates the north.

We are not publishing park counts or playground inventories for these cities, because we did not have a sourced figure and we will not estimate one for a grant narrative. Pull provision data from your own parks master plan and cite that document.

The structural point for Utah buyers is that the funding door is wider here than almost anywhere else, and the compliance path is narrower. Nonprofits and schools can apply for state money directly, which removes the partnership problem that dominates playground funding in other states, but every licensed center still has to hit Utah's own depth table rather than a national standard. Spend the time you save on the application working out the surfacing depth.

Buying it correctly in Utah

Utah public agencies can run a competitive solicitation or buy from a pre-competed cooperative contract such as Sourcewell or OMNIA. Cooperative purchasing is compliant and quick, and it substitutes someone else's specification for yours, so read what was competed before you rely on it. Our guide to cooperative purchasing covers the tradeoff, and it matters more than usual in Utah, because a national cooperative specification will be written to CPSC and ASTM rather than to the Utah depth table.

The four items most often missed on a Utah project: the excavation depth derived from Utah's own table for the material and equipment height you actually chose, UV-stabilized materials with a warranty that addresses fade, shade in the base bid, and a moisture-conditioned subgrade under any concrete border or poured-in-place slab. Our how-to-buy guide includes an RFP template, our surfacing comparison covers how the materials in Utah's table behave in service, the cost estimator will size a budget, and find suppliers will show who covers your area.

Get a Utah funding and supplier plan

Tell us your organization type, your county and your rough budget. We will send back the Utah programs you are actually eligible for, which tier fits your scope, and vetted suppliers who cover your area. No cost, and we do not sell equipment.

Explore more: grant database · cost estimator · how to buy · find suppliers · playgrounds for parks · site prep and drainage · all states

Utah playground questions, answered

Can a Utah nonprofit or school apply for the Utah Outdoor Recreation Grant?

Yes. The Utah Division of Outdoor Recreation lists eligible UORG applicants as municipalities, state agencies, federal agencies, public educational institutions, nonprofits and tribal governments. That is one of the broadest applicant lists of any state park grant program in the country, and it is the opposite of states such as Ohio and Texas where school boards and nonprofits are shut out of the main program entirely. A Utah nonprofit does not need a city to carry its application.

How much can a Utah playground project get from UORG?

UORG has five funding categories, not two. The Division of Outdoor Recreation lists a Mini-Grant of up to 30,000 dollars, Tier 1 from 30,001 to 500,000 dollars, a Regional Asset tier from 500,001 to 1,000,000 dollars, Community Parks and Recreation from 5,000 to 200,000 dollars, and Recreation Restoration Infrastructure of up to 250,000 dollars. Community Parks and Recreation is the category that fits a neighborhood playground, and note its 5,000 dollar floor, while Tier 1 covers a larger park project above the 200,000 dollar Community Parks and Recreation ceiling. The Division did not state the required match on the page we read, so ask the Division what cost share applies to your category before you size the request.

Does Utah childcare licensing follow CPSC or ASTM for playground surfacing?

No. Utah Administrative Code R381-100-19, Play Equipment, writes its own prescriptive minimum depth tables for loose fill materials including sand, gravel, shredded tires and wood products, keyed to the height of the equipment. It does not name CPSC Publication 325 or ASTM F1487, and it does not use the phrase fall zone. A Utah center therefore has to meet Utah's tables specifically, and a supplier statement that a product is CPSC and ASTM compliant does not by itself demonstrate compliance with the Utah rule.

Why does playground equipment age faster in Utah?

Elevation and sun. Utah's population centers sit at roughly 4,300 to 4,900 feet and St. George sits in a high desert radiation environment, and ultraviolet intensity rises roughly 4 to 6 percent per 1,000 feet of elevation. Unstabilized HDPE panels, rope, plastisol coatings and the binder in poured in place rubber chalk, fade and go brittle years earlier than the same product in a coastal climate. Dark surfacing in that sun also reaches contact burn temperatures on summer afternoons, which makes shade a base bid item rather than an upsell.